iorewvirtual.blogg.se

Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58
Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58









save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 save bios settings asus sabertooth x58
  1. #Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 install
  2. #Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 64 Bit
  3. #Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 driver
  4. #Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 full

So I'm a happy camper in the end.Īnd yes, I can solemnly confirm that Ubuntu actually does play very nice with the Asus Sabertooth, and can be installed running flawlessly in a 64-bit enviroment, as long as you wisely choose the alternative cd to install on the first attempt (instead of, like me, innitially waisting about 80 faulty installs in three days with the default live cd).

#Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 driver

iso, in the live-cd enviroment made a bootable usbstick with that on it and lo and behold installing this time around worked flawlessly.Įverything now seems to work, my LAN, the sound, installing the proprietary graphics driver for the nVidia GPU, testing that intensely by playing some Windows-titles (trough Wine) without lockups, the whole she-bang. Thus I downloaded the 10.10 64-bit alternative. So I tried remedy that by switching my SATA HD' s from the marvel SATAIII controller to the SATA2 connectors on the mainboard, only to be confronted with the same problem again, and again.for an estimated 80 (.!) flawed attempts, before finally concluding that installing Ubuntu 10.10 64-bit with the live cd really wouldn't work for my new setup. Google on this matter, I figured that perhaps the current version of Ubuntu couldn't be happily married yet to that new marvel 9128 (SATAIII) controller. So again having rebooted, I now tried fiddling with the settings in my Sabertooth' s BIOS, then booting from the live cd.to no avail, and after consulting dr. Disk utility did properly recognise my 2 unformatted SATA HD' s though.īut since the problem repeatedly appeared after partioning during the installer, I thought I narrowed it down too something going awkward with Ubuntu detecting that new SATA Harddisk, or it's configuration in the BIOS of my Sabertooth. So I rebooted from the live-cd again, clicking the install-icon on the desktop, but same the problem presented itself.after setting up the partition through the installer, again the progressbar did not appear on the horizon. So, I thought, no problem, this will probably be just a simple matter of lather, rinse and repeating which will probably remedy that. The installer did seem to startup just fine, but after the partitioning page in the installer, the progress-bar just never appeared, which at first I thought was just a quirk. Then, alas, onward to actually installing the Ubuntu OS presented a completly different and I might add less smooth scenario. all being recognised out of the box (or better said: from the live CD). iso, burned it on a CD-R and tested the live-cd enviroment which seemed to work perfectly.

#Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 full

With 1GB memory and vanilla geforce 6600 (256mb) with Ubuntu 32bit OS to my new system as specified below.Ģ SATA HD's in RAID1 (mirror): WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1 TB, both with Zalman Heathpipe HDD cooler ZM-2HC2Īnd moving from 1GB of memory to 6GB, there off course was a definately urging need to go for the 64bit version this time around, since I wanted to be able to use the full 6GB size, besides of the other obvious benefits of a 64-bit OS with such new components that can make use of such an OS. Having happily made the quite progressive jump from my 4 years old AMD Athlon64 3500+ Anyone using the ASUS Sabertooth X58 and Ubuntu? I've searched for ASUS Sabertooth X58 + Linux.

#Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58 64 Bit

good way to see the cpu pump out a kernel in no time flat.īut as far as windows goes it's 'okay' in 64 bit and handles w7 32bit quite well. I bought this board for stability and it is stable in 32 bit, wish now i bought dimms instead of i was thinking about loading debian, but i might have to go old school and stick a new kernel in it. Sysrescd - testdisk - found the part table and put it back together, but that's the kind of mess i hate. i've had windows blow up a part table when formatting a partition in windows, but this was pretty weird. all of a sudden dialog boxes had no text, the system was really nuts. Then this morning while working in shotwell, ubuntu's photo manager, the partition table on my data drive blew up! never had that happen while just working. get this though, running iotop in ubuntu showed there was no i/o activity going on. like moving a window or selecting a menu. because when the system is back then anything i did with the mouse while unresponsive, will happen. the mouse works and some things work like system monitors, but most anything else waits. i noticed that my cpu was running around 130F idle and it runs around 108F otherwise.įor some reason in 64 bit, doesn't happen in 32 bit, either in ubuntu or windows my hdd led will show activity and then the system is either sluggish or not responding. for some reason maybe i fat fingered something not sure, but the dimm voltage got set too high 1.7 for about a day - set it back to auto and all is fine. i just set the speed to 1600 in the bios.











Save bios settings asus sabertooth x58